MINUTES

Minutes of the Meetings of the International Board during the 43rd International Physics Olympiad in Tallinn, Estonia, July 15 – 24, 2012

1. A total number of 378 contestants from the following 80 countries were present at the 43rd International Physics Olympiad:

Albania, Armenia, Australia, Austria, Azerbaijan, Bangladesh, Belarus, Bosnia & Herzegovina, Brazil, Bulgaria, Belgium, Bolivia, Canada, China, Colombia, Croatia, Cyprus, Czech Republic, Denmark, El Salvador, Estonia, Finland, France, Georgia, Germany, Greece, Hong Kong, Iceland, Hungary, Indonesia, Ireland, Israel, Italy, Kazakhstan, Kuwait, India, Iran, Japan, Liechtenstein, Lithuania, Macau, Malaysia, Kyrgyzstan, Latvia, Macedonia, Mexico, Moldova, Mongolia, Montenegro, Netherlands, Nigeria, Norway, Pakistan, Poland, Portugal, Puerto Rico, Republic of Korea, Romania, South Africa*, Saudi Arabia, Serbia, Singapore, Slovakia, Slovenia, Russia, Sri Lanka, Suriname, Sweden, Switzerland, Syria, Taiwan, Tajikistan, Spain, Thailand, Turkey, Turkmenistan, Ukraine, United Kingdom, USA, Vietnam.

2. Results of marking the papers by the organizers were presented.

The best score (45.8 points) was achieved by Mr. Attila Szabó from Hungary (the overall winner of the 43rd IPhO). The following limits for awarding the medals and the honorable mention were established according to the Statutes:

Gold Medal 31.0 points
Silver Medal 23.9 points
Bronze Medal 17.2 points
Honorable Mention 12.4 points

According to the above limits, 45 Gold Medals, 71 Silver Medals, 92 Bronze Medals, and 63 Honorable Mentions were awarded. The grade lists of the awardees were distributed to all the delegation leaders in print.

- 3. In addition to the regular prizes, the following special prizes were awarded:
 - The Overall Winner

Mr. Attila Szabó, Hungary

• Best in Theory

Mr. Attila Szabó, Hungary

^{*:} new country invited by the Organizing Committee to IPhO this year.

• Best in Experiment

Mr. Kai-Chi Huang, Taiwan

• Special Prize for the Best Solution of the Theoretical

Mr. Eric Schneider, United States of America

• Special Prizes for the Best Solution of the Experimental

Mr. Christoph Schildknecht, Switzerland

Mr. Ivan Ivashkovskiy, Russia

Mr. Chi Shu, People's Republic of China

• Special Prize for the best innovative solution

Mr. Lev Ginzburg, Russia

• Special Prize for the best Estonian student

Mr. Jaan Toots, Estonia

• Special Prize for the Best Girl IPhO 2012

Ms. Alexandra Vassiljeva, Russia

• Prize of European Physical Society

Mr. Attila Szabó, Hungary

• Prizes of Association of Asia Pacific Physical Societies

Ms. Jeevana Priya Inala, India

Mr. Hengyun Zhou, People's Republic of China

- 4. The following three leaders were designated by the International Board to serve as consultants to the local academic committee for grading the examination papers:

 Prof. Niels Hartling (Denmark), Prof. Suwan Kusamran (Thailand), and Prof. Helmuth Mayr (Austria).
- 5. The International Board discussed a proposal, presented by the President of IPhO, Dr. Hans Jordens, of establishing a legal body of fund-raising bank account, named by " the Foundation of International Physics Olympiad", which would be affiliated to the IPhO. The object of the non-profit Foundation is to raise funds for helping economy-weak countries to send students to participate in IPhO and for providing financial support to future hosting countries in case of need. The Statutes of the Foundation which was examined and revised by the Advisory Committee had been disseminated to all leaders three months prior to the IB meeting. The proposal was accepted by the International Board with an overwhelming majority in the affirmative. The Board of the Foundation comprises at least 3 members. In addition to IPhO President and Secretary, a Treasurer will be nominated and elected in the next IPhO.

- 6. The current President of IPhO will have his term expired in 2013. Since no specific regulation on the election of presidency is stated in the IPhO Statutes, the International Board unanimously agreed to adopt the same procedures of electing IPhO Secretary, as specified in the Regulations to the Article #8, for the election of new president of the term 2013-2018.
- 7. The International Board discussed a proposal submitted by Icelandic leader, Dr. Martin Swift, which asked to modify the regulations on using "non-programmable" pocket calculator as stated in the Article #5 of the IPhO Statutes. The International Board approved to form a specific committee to deliberate on revising the concerned regulations. The IPhO Secretariat has invited the following three leaders to form the calculator-committee: Dr. Martin Swift (Iceland), Dr. Eli Raz (Israel), and Dr. Matthew Verdon (Australia).
- 8. The IPhO Secretariat received an official letter from the Korean Physical Society which stated that Republic of Korea would prefer to host the 58th IPhO in 2027 instead of the 63th IPhO in 2032 as previously proposed. The request was accepted by the International Board.
- 9. The President of the IPhOs, Prof. Hans Jordens, acting on behalf of all the participants, expressed his gratitude to the Minister of Education and Research, Prof. Dr. Jaak Aaviksoo and deep thanks to Mrs Ene Koitla (Head of the Organizing Committee), Prof. Jaak Kikas (Head of the Academic Committee), Dr. Jaan Kalda (Co-head of the Academic Committee), Dr. Viire Sepp (Academic Secretary of the Steering Committee) and all other members involved in organizing the IPhO2012 for excellent preparation and conduction of the 43rd International Physics Olympiad. Deep thanks were also conveyed to Tallinn University of Technology, University of Tartu, Estonian Physical Society, and the Ministry of Education and Research of Estonia, all the sponsors, graders, guides and other people who contributed to the success of the Olympiad.
- 10. The Danish delegates disseminated printed materials about the 44th IPhO in 2013 to all the delegations and described present state of the preparatory works to ensure smooth organization of the next Olympiad.
- 11. At the Closing Ceremony of the Olympiad, on behalf of the organizers of the next International Physics Olympiad, Prof. Niels Hartling announced that the 44th International Physics Olympiad would be organized in Copenhagen, Denmark from July 7 to 15, 2013 and cordially invited all the participating countries to attend the competition.

Prof. Hans Jordens

President of the IPhO

Prof. Ming-Juey Lin Secretary of the IPhO Prof. Jaak Kikas Head of the Academic Committee of IPhO2012

Tallinn, Estonia July 22, 2012